The Free Press Awards recognise journalists and media professionals who have a strong commitment with press freedom and independent information. We will honour journalists and media professionals who continue no matter what. 

Free Press Unlimited wants to honour journalists who risk everything to bring us the news, media pioneers who pave the way for equality and justice and those who persevere under the most difficult circumstances. The Free Press Awards will recognise exceptional work in the categories Newcomer of the Year and Most Resilient Journalist.

Criteria Free Press Awards

Nominations for the awards will be judged by an independent panel of international experts. The winner in the category 'Newcomer of the Year' will receive a media scholarship by choice. The winner in the category 'Most Resilient Journalist' will receive a cash prize of €15,000. Read more about the categories Newcomer of the Year and Most Resilient Journalist.

Free Press Awards 2021

Stay tuned on our socials and website to be up to date about the next deadline to nominate a journalist for the categories 'Newcomer of the Year' and 'Most Resilient Journalist' for the Free Press Live edition in 2021. By then, the nomination forms below can be used to nominate a journalist.

Nomination form: Most Resilient Journalist

Nomination form: Newcomer of the Year

Free Press Live

Each year, Free Press Unlimited organises Free Press Live - Stand up for journalists and justice; an event dedicated to the protection of journalists. The Free Press Awards ceremony will be held during Free Press Live and winners in both categories receive an expenses-paid visit to the awards ceremony in November in The Hague, where the prices will be conferred in person.

All over the world, journalists are threatened, attacked or even murdered because they want to bring their audiences reliable information. And often the perpetrators aren’t even prosecuted. To commemorate the International Day to End Impunity for Crimes against Journalists, Free Press Unlimited hosts Free Press Live - Stand up for journalists and justice.